SSPCM 2018

13th International School on Theoretical Physics
Symmetry and Structural Properties of Condensed Matter
Rzeszów 10-15 September 2018

Home Programme History Accommodation Committees Contact
Check out the SSPCM 2018 poster!

13th International School on Theoretical Physics

10-15 September 2018, Rzeszów, Poland

SSPCM 2018 is intended for the international condensed matter physics community working on cutting-edge topics in both theoretical and experimental physics, and it aims at giving an overview of current trends and developments in the field. The subject matter of the school covers a wide range of problems and phenomena which are deeply entangled throughout condensed matter physics, including the role of symmetry and topology in condensed matter, correlations in low-dimensional systems, quasi-particle excitations, quantum dynamics, the properties of nanostructures, spintronics, topological insulators, quantum information, and many more. The conference has the character of an advanced school in theoretical physics and is addressed both to young scientists at the beginning of their career, as well as to more senior and well established experts. A series of fundamental lectures will give an introduction to the field, while focused seminars explore some of the most recent findings. All participants will have the opportunity to present their work, and contributed papers will be published in the conference proceedings in Acta Physica Polonica A.

Invited speakers (confirmed):

  • Mazhar Ali (Max Planck Institute for Microstructure Physics, Germany)
  • Farkhad Aliev (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Jamal Berakdar (Martin Luther University, Halle, Germany)
  • Levan Chotorlishvili (Martin Luther University, Halle, Germany)
  • Tomasz Dietl (Institute of Physics PAN, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Rembert Duine (Utrecht University, Netherlands)
  • Anna Dyrdał (Martin Luther University, Halle, Germany)
  • Arthur Ernst (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)
  • Aires Ferreira (University of York, UK)
  • Maciej Fidrysiak (Jagellonian University, Kraków, Poland)
  • Victor Galitski (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Grzegorz Harań (Wrocław University of Technology, Poland)
  • Tomas Jungwirth (Institute of Physics, Prague, Czech Republic)
  • Igor Lerner (University of Birmingham, UK)
  • Bruno Mera (Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Pedro Sacramento (Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Nicholas Sedlmayr (Rzeszów University of Technology, Poland)
  • Evgeny Sherman (Universidad del País Vasco, Bilbao, Spain)
  • Pascal Simon (Université Paris-Sud, France)
  • Jesko Sirker (University of Manitoba, Canada)
  • Włodzimierz Stefanowicz (University of Opole, Poland)
  • Tomasz Story (Institute of Physics PAN, Warsaw, Poland)
  • Gen Tatara (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Ilya Tokatly (Universidad del País Vasco, San Sebastian, Spain)
  • Giovanni Vignale (University of Missouri, USA)
  • Shohei Watabe (Tokyo University of Science, Japan)
  • Ming-Wei Wu (Hefei National Laboratory, China)
  • Włodzimierz Zawadzki (Institute of Physics PAN, Warsaw, Poland)

Important dates

Submission of the proceedings December 15th, 2018